A talk about questions at DCWW Code(Her) conference

In two weeks I’ll be giving a presentation at DC Web Women‘s Code(Her) Conference. My one-hour presentation is called “A Nicer Kind of Interrogation,” and it’s all about asking questions.

Asking a question may seem like a simple task. You wonder a thing and you think who to ask, probably without differentiating between the two actions of question and questionee. And then you just say the question out loud in the presence of the person, right?

In reality, the question you have may not be the right question to ask, and asking it in a straightforward way might not result in a straightforward answer. Humans are tricky that way.

Getting answers to questions is a skill I’ve developed through design research. Getting answers requires creativity and the right combination of persistence and patience. The perspectives and tactics I’ve learned have been useful not only in my client and team relationships, but also in everyday life.

And that’s why I’m excited to be giving this talk at Code(Her). It’s giving me an opportunity to take a look at all the things I’ve learned about asking questions, and put it into structure that’ll help you get to where I am, without you having to go through all the trial and error.

I hope you join me at the Code(Her) Conference!

About Veronica Erb

Designs, researches, illustrates, and writes code. Plays ukulele. Dances Balboa. Grew up in a geodesic dome, and hasn't gotten over it.
This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

